Read and Be Free

A look at libraries, literature, technology and staying sane in an insane world.

AT #5 December 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aimeethompson99 @ 9:33 AM

AT #5 Curriculum Connections

Responses to AT#5 Reflection Questions:

1.  What did I learn about assistive technology? In doing the hardware and software selections, I realized that there are a number of tools to assist students with disabilities and that technology really has expanded the possibilities for students with disabilities to function and excel in the classroom and in their daily lives.  I also learned several useful tips about low/high cost AT technology devices that are available.  I   was reminded of several strategies and tools that can be useful for “universal design” and inclusion of students with disabilities in the library setting.

What will I do differently? As a high school librarian, many of the students I work with have assistive technology in place by the time they reach grade 9.  I jump on board with whatever accommodations are requested.  I would like to be more involved in offering both hardware and software choices and recommendations that could assist these students. I did learn a lot about text-to-audio devices that can be beneficial to a number of students who have reading/writing disabilities or who read below grade level.  I plan on incorporating these selections into my library budget requests over the next few fiscal years.

2.  Do I recommend this tutorial? Yes, this tutorial in a blog format was easily accessible and helpful, but from time to time, the hyperlinks were not active and should be checked and updated.  I do feel that there is a lot more information out there, but these activities provided a solid overview.  I do wish that there was a tutorial directly related to library services and librarians.

3.  Recommended reading list:  I was happy to see a number of titles on the recommended reading list that I have read.  Some of the titles that I am familiar with that I readily recommend for YA readers include:

A Book of a Thousand Days

Al Capone Does My Shirts

A Child Called It

The Crazy Horse

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Flowers for Algernon

Freak the Mighty

The Giver

Rules

So Be It

Tangerine

Whale Talk

 

One Response to “AT #5”

  1. Cool issue, didn’t thought reading this was going to be so interesting when I saw your link.


Leave a Reply

